How to Solve Your Problems by Running Away

It does actually work sometimes.

đź”®Ellise
4 min readFeb 6, 2024

--

A few years back, I was depressed to the point that I was 10 pounds underweight and didn’t leave my room for days at a time.

From the outside looking in, my life probably looked fine- I had all my basic needs met and then some.

But I was struggling deeply within myself and not finding solace in anything.

Friends were ignored and treated poorly. Exercise did nothing. I attempted self medicating, but even my usual sauce made me feel no more alive and no less dead. Nothing.

So I didn’t do anything but stare at the wall. For like a year.

Ultimately I was unfulfilled and needed a major shake up.

One day I guess I had enough and literally slapped myself across the face. I told myself to just figure it out.

Do something.

So I crawled (literally) to a piece of paper and a pen and started writing down how I felt, and why I felt that way. Then I wrote how I wanted to feel, and what brought those feelings out of me.

I determined that I needed to make a drastic change and do something a complete 180 degrees different than I had ever done.

I needed to go. Very far away…

--

--

đź”®Ellise

Free-spirited ✦ solo traveler ✦ writing about things I love: travel ✦spirituality ✦ and building a life of freedom✦